Mexico Photoglut: Sorry, I Only Eat Ham in Discotheques


IMG_4014 TITLE

Oh, internet, I have tricked you once again! In preparation for my trip to Mexico, I went on a writing spree and pre-posted 4(!) different jewels of blogging splendour to be released into the wilds as I stuffed my face with quesadillas and low-grade tequila for 100 pesos a bottle. Even as I appeared to be rhapsodizing about my entry into India and regaling you with my fascinating anecdotes and bon mots, I was in the wind, as I often am.

Why did I go to Mexico? Why, to reward myself for all of my hard work in unemployment! But seriously, there were a few reasons. Some of my best friends currently live there. I had been to Mexico once before, but on a cruise when I was 17, and barely for a day, to the point that I barely count it as a notch on my travel belt. I had been feeling down from the job hunt, which has involved 5 months of continuous resume-ing and cover letter-ing all across the globe. Also there was that chance that I could have won that free trip but I totally lost and felt bad about myself, and nothing perks me up like a big frivolous money-hemorrhage in another country!

What was I saying? Something about Mexico. Avocados? I swear I had something for this. You get the idea. Let’s go!

After finishing our big dumb Asia Megasojourn, my dearest friends returned to America for a time, where they also got to enjoy the whole wallowing-in-unemployment for a while. Then, on the most righteous of whims, they decided to move to Mexico to learn Spanish. They chose Guanajuato, and found a ludicrously beautiful house. This is the view from their enormous balcony:
Balcony View
Of course, in order to get to this view, you must trudge up a desolate, high-altitude callejón every single day for approximately 15 minutes. It is maybe probably worth it.
The Callejon
Before I forget to mention and underline this fact, Guanajuato is terribly picturesque. For mad-rad photos, the steps are the following: 1. Walk down random alley. 2. Begin taking pictures adequately.
Doorways
The Calle
Classic Car
While my friends toiled not unpleasantly in their Spanish language school, I spent my days wandering the town, and occasionally areas near the town. Did you know Mexico has mummies, and also solid gold churches? But no solid gold mummies. What a country.
Momias
La Valenciana I
Crucifix for Sale
Secret Garden
Guanajuato was old-lookin’ generally, but young people were everywhere, which of course meant really dumb graffiti spray-painted by uncreative jagweeds. Luckily, the tags were mostly washed away by rampant weirdo stickering, enormous cool murals running down one or another in-town mountain, and lots of cool weird art displays. Take back the streets, y’all. Ideally, take them back with a paintbrush or a stencil.
Eagle of the Path
Pacman's Ghost
Escaped Jellyfish
Mother Mary of the Wall
Do you remember what I look like? How about Faith and Ty? They have been regular features in these here hallowed electronic pages, as I have been yammering on about them for several months while describing Asia. I purchased a new lens just before this trip, so here we all are again, this time in slightly better framing and image quality.
Number One
Orange and Mango
IMG_4023
And let us end our time in Mexico at Hacienda San Gabriel de Barrera, which is a very photogenic place, and also smells like bougainvilleas. (I don’t know the name of this flower off-hand. My family is full of gardeners, I just asked them.)
Jardin San Francisco
Jardin Seating
Bench and Petals
Hacienda
Not pictured are the endless chorizo tortas I stuffed into my gullet. There are, however, pictures of some other pretty things from Mexico available on flickr. And coming soon: words on Mexico!
None of them will be in Spanish.

15 thoughts on “Mexico Photoglut: Sorry, I Only Eat Ham in Discotheques

  1. Mmm. Mexican food. I would very much love to visit Mexico (it is a little further from me than from you though). Until I am more affluent, I will visit a Mexican-style restaurant instead. Delicious.

  2. Next time go to the Yucatan peninsula, just avoid Cancun. Make sure you see Merida and surrounding areas as well as visit Isla Mujeres, i can even tell you where to stay…………….

  3. Wow, what hell am I doing in Hong Kong learning half-ass Cantonese and (just barely) keeping up my marginal Mandarin! I need to be there improving my mediocre Spanish.

    • I’m never going to not tell someone to move to Mexico to learn Spanish.

      (Also, shit: I don’t speak any Spanish, but after a week there I was understanding a scary amount. It’s probably a more manageable task than taking on Cantonese. That said: learning Cantonese is pretty difficult and thus also bad-ass.)

Leave a Reply

