Programming Announcement


The path

Korea: two years later, and it’s still pretty awesome.

Today, I have been in Korea for 2 years.

I have been writing this blog for even longer. I have 200-and-something posts, and probably around 200,000 words spread across these well-thumbed electronic pages. Laughs have been larfed. Tears shed. Vomit erupted to the back of throats and then receded. Neurons gently stimulated by intriguing configurations of the English language. Pictures looked at. Things eaten.

I’ve given you my words, and those are about the only thing I know how to give, so I’m glad you all took them.

I have one more post for tomorrow (I think you’ll understand why I saved it for last), and then I’m going to be going on a little bit of a hiatus. I will be traveling for nearly four months through southeast Asia and India. I will have shoddy, irregular access to the internet. I will not have a laptop with which to properly accrue and ruminate my words, swallowing them back and regurgitating them onto my keyboard several times before pushing them out for you, the reader, to sup upon like little cow-birds (my metaphors kind of mutated there). I won’t be able to upload or manipulate my photos, I won’t be able to write nearly as much, and I won’t be able to concentrate and properly give you words in the way I want to give them to you. If I tried to maintain this blog the way it is while on the road it would require a lot less being on and enjoying the road; if I tried to give you some watered-down simulacrum to tide you over until I could make some real words, I would feel pretty dissatisfied with the product.

As such, this is a temporary goodbye. I will be back one day, with stories and pictures and, universe willing, a whole new place to be stupid and ugly and foreign in. New lands to stomp. New foods to eat. New people to meet, new things to say, and whole slews of topics to be neurotic about.

Until that day comes, I want to thank you all sincerely for reading, commenting, linking, and simply hanging out around here in whatever ways you have over these two years. I never expected to get anyone to read this beyond those few people I forced it upon. It is overwhelmingly ingratiating to have so many wonderful people appreciating the words I put out and giving me their own in return.

You will hear from me again soon (tomorrow, specifically, and then again in the future, more vaguely). Stay safe. Travel hard. Eat. Drink. Sleep. Write.

Michael Em. Over and out.
A nice day on the pier

15 thoughts on “Programming Announcement

  1. I am genuinely sad. I look forward to reading your posts! I hope you have a good trip, but I also sincerely hope you return to writing your blog!

  2. This is weird, man. I don’t like it. I don’t like it one bit. In all honesty, your blog has been a big motivating factor for me to keep up my own…it’s gonna be a cold and lonely world without Stupid Ugly Foreigner. I will try to convince you to keep posting. Perhaps you will get some sort of an earful tomorrow night when I feel you are drunk and impressionable enough. : P

  3. Have a safe trip, will look forward to all the new stories and, of course, those beautiful pictures you always post. Be Well.

Leave a Reply

