Temple Cat and Street Scorpion: Thailand Photoglut


Tuk-tuk

Words. I have literally dozens of them jangling about in my addled monkey brain, trying desperately to make it to word document, then to blog post, then to your waiting eyes to tell you about my vacation. But these words take time to coalesce, to coagulate into something resembling actual human communication and not a series of ecstatic expository yelps ending each with an exclamation point, and no individual words exceeding the two syllable mark. In other words, I am stalling until I can write more. In the intervening time, to provide you with the bloggish sustenance you so clearly need to nourish your chapped, ravenous souls, I provide you with this, a photoglut of Thailand. “But Michael,” you cry, “we came for amateurish writing, not amateurish photography!” Well, today you get the latter until I can extrude the amateurish writing from my noggin in a pleasing, humorous manner. Behold: Thailand.

(All pictures from Bangkok, Surat Thani, Kanchanaburi, Koh Samui, and the travel routes in between.)

Democracy monument

Travel companions

Temple cat

Bangkok by day

Gods for sale

Templeside

Dog, graveyard

Along the River Kwai

The saddest bird

Along the River Kwai

Naptime

Bangkok by long-tail boat

Street shrine

Guard

The palace skyline

Flowers

Menus

Airports

Cabaret

21 thoughts on “Temple Cat and Street Scorpion: Thailand Photoglut

  1. I can so relate to the overwhelming feeling of getting back from a vacation and not knowing where to start with blogging about it. I like the photoglut idea as a stop-gap measure. These photos are in no way amateurish, by the way. They’re stunning, especially the dog and cat shots.

    • I know where to start blogging about it, the problem is after: I have jangles of stories to tell, and I don’t want to turn this into “Michael goes on and on about nice weather” month at SUF. I’m trying to limit myself on the expository nature of talking about my vacation, and working on jamming more of the material into broader posts on travelling and also my own neuroticism (of course).

  2. Welcome back brother. Im writhing in jealousy, but thankful for the beautiful photos. I can’t wait to hear ( see) more. How on earth did you get that close to the tiger?
    Love, me!

    • More will come soon. I will probably have to crap out and do a Hong Kong photopost as well before I can realistically provide real words.

      The spirit of the bear is how I got so close. That’s how. Also, maybe a tourist package to the tiger temple.

  3. These bring back such memories for me! I spent 21 says in Thailand in 1994 and it is such a photogenic place…The photo of the boat (on the Chao Praya?) is spectacular, really! Nice work.

  4. Michael:

    Glad you had a great time and glad you made it back safe and sound (as I am sure your mother is too); this being said, I have been missing your verbal dialetic discourse. Of course, as you know, I do appreciate the photography though! And while close up photos of tigers (lions or bears) can easily be done with telephoto lens (or sedated animals) the pictures with the dogs (at the temple and cemetary) really caught my photographic eye. I am looking forward to your written disertation of your travels.

    Cheers,

    Glenn

    • A dissertation is certainly one way to allude to the fact that my posts verge on thesis word limits. I will soon post, I promise! Glad you enjoyed the photos, I have craploads more from Hong Kong and the surrounding islands.

  5. Glad to see you had a great time!! The photos are STUNNING…I am well and truly jealous now. 😛
    I can totally relate to you wanting to get your experiences into a form that is longer than “WOW!!”
    I eagerly look forward to your tales of adventure and will try not be any more jealous than I am right now 😉
    Glad to see you got back safe and sound 🙂

    • Thank you for the well-wishes! I try not to make my travel posts sound to braggardly, which is difficult, because the torrents of “Wow! I CAN’T BELIEVE I DID THIS THNG IN THIS FOREIGN COUNTRY” are teeming right under the surface. If my posts come off with any degree of casualness or stoicism, it will be with considerable effort on my part.

  6. Glad you’re back! I love the colorful pictures. I’m looking forward to reading your verbose account of your vacation. I think my blog project will be up and running in about 3-4 weeks. (Prof wants heavy reading the first half of the semester, and heavy writing the second half…) I’ll send you a link when it’s official!

  7. Beautiful stuff… hope you had a good time! I will be going in April and this got me in the mood (damn you, now I can’t work because I have Thai on the mind).

    • Tiger Temple! You bring the camera, they bring the ferocious and large jungle cats.

      I say amateurish because I still know almost nothing about photography. I put the camera in front of my face, take the meager remnants of my memories from visual arts, and move around until my brain goes, “Oooh, pretty.”

  8. Your pictures are lovely! Now I’m trying to decide whether I live in a monochromatic place, or whether I just need someone to take pictures of it for me…

    Very interesting!

Leave a Reply

