Ain’t No Mountain High Enough: Seoraksan Photoglut


It's Korea, I swearWhile I will soon deign to fix upon you with a ballast of my verbiage about how I hiked for two days through Seorak Mountain park, for now, you get a picture post. What with the actual physical exertion and whatnot, I am rendered incapable of waxing on about my experiences, so I’ll let my camera do the talking. Behold: Seoraksan, some nearby waterfalls, some staircases, and one of the few encounters with Korean wildlife.

Fall leaves

The giant Buddha

The bridge

It's a bird!

Nancy

Bridge

Chipmunks

Adam

Stairway to heaven

Lunchtime

Angela climbs

8 thoughts on “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough: Seoraksan Photoglut

  1. Michael, some superb photos; I particularly like the first one and the one with the stairs way down below. What are you shooting with?

  2. Michael:

    The Nikon D60 is a nice camera at 10.2 MP and has been around about 2 years so you should be able to get it at a reasonable price. However, before you jump into the deep end you should think about your direction as once you commit to a “brand” you become focussed (pardon the pun) as your bigger investment is often in additional lens which rarely cross over. Nikon is a great brand but as you know I shoot with Canon’s (another pun) and have for forty years. My old lens do not work with the new digitals but we are expanding our new lens to catch up. Both brands have great DSLRs from $4-500 and up so in part you need to decide what you are willing to spend. You will likely get a much better deal on a camera in Korea than Canada but you will have to check that out on line; use Henry’s or Vistek as a base line. Also check out photoprice.ca. I am looking at a new EOS 7D but you might want to start with EOS T2i

    • Thanks for the advice… There’s a huge electronics market in Seoul that I might revisit, as it is teaming with hordes of camera stands, and my Korean is at about the level where I could at least rudimentarily request a discount and haggle. And beyond that, a Korean friend has agreed to help me shop around online, too. I’ll check out the models you suggested… I’ll most likely, as you say, be going with a model probably 1-2 years old.

  3. Hi Michael:
    Glad to see you’re having some fun while working hard!
    Just logged on now, so probably missed lots of your adventures, thus far.
    We’re impressed.
    Good luck and talk to you soon.
    Love Valerie & Craig

Leave a Reply

